The Meeting

Yesterday I read a remark that meeting God is more real than meeting someone face to face. This is because when you meet someone, you present a specific version of yourself to them, you withhold parts of yourself. When you meet God it is different. You cannot hide yourself from Him. Your very being encounters Him.

It really struck me – the completeness of the encounter with Him.

“But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?” Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” Jesus replied, “Blessed are you, Simon son of Jonah, for this was not revealed to you by man, but by my Father in heaven. And I tell you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of Hades will not overcome it. – Matt 16:15-18

When Simon realized Jesus is the Son of God, Jesus introduces him to himself. “You have seen me for who I am and now I tell you who you are – who you have been all along.”

We behold Him as in a mirror.
We meet Him in us.
And we realize He has been there all along.
He is our essence,
our substance,
our source.

We are made for intimacy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

